Review: Crossroads

How far would you go to bring back someone you love?

When Chris’ son dies in a tragic car crash, her world is devastated. The walls of grief close in on Chris’ life until, one day, a small cut on her finger changes everything. A drop of blood falls from Chris’ hand onto her son’s roadside memorial, and, later that night, Chris thinks she sees his ghost outside her window. Only, is it really her son’s ghost, or is it something else – something evil? Soon Chris is playing a dangerous game with forces beyond her control in a bid to see her son, Trey, alive once again.

Review: These Deadly Games

Let’s play a game.

You have 24 hours to win. If you break my rules, she dies. If you call the police, she dies. If you tell your parents or anyone else, she dies.

Are you ready?

When Crystal Donavan gets a message on a mysterious app with a picture of her little sister gagged and bound, she agrees to play the kidnapper’s game. At first, they make her complete bizarre tasks: Steal a test and stuff it in a locker, bake brownies, make a prank call.

But then Crystal realizes that each task is meant to hurt—and kill—her friends, one by one. But if she refuses to play, the kidnapper will kill her sister. Is someone trying to take her team out of the running for a gaming tournament? Or have they uncovered a secret from their past, and wanting them to pay for what they did….

Author of All Your Twisted Secrets, Diana Urban’s explosive sophomore novel, These Deadly Games, is a must-listen, propulsive YA thriller with deadly stakes, stunning twists, and a shocking ending you’ll never forget—perfect for fans of I Know What You Did Last Summer and One of Us Is Lying.

Review: Henrietta & Eleanor: A Retelling of Jekyll and Hyde

First published to critical acclaim in 1886, Robert Louis Stevenson’s mesmerising thriller is a terrifying study of the duality of man’s nature, and it is the book which established Stevenson’s reputation as a writer.

In this Audible Original drama Stevenson’s story is transported to modern-day London, and instead we meet Henrietta Jekyll and Eleanor Hyde.

Dr Jekyll, a charming doctor, explores the possibility of dividing the dark and light side of her personality, but in doing this she creates a monster, Eleanor Hyde. For many years she manages to live under the radar, keeping her dark secret unknown to those around her. However, gradually her evil side gains strength until Dr Jekyll is overwhelmed by Eleanor Hyde, to disastrous consequences. An exploration of human duality and forces of good and evil, this modern retelling is compelling and eerie and retains the disturbing nature of the original text.

Starring Holliday Grainger (Cinderella, My Cousin Rachel, Strike) and Carla Mendonça (My Parents Are Aliens, So Awkward).

Also starring Tim Bentinck, Bill Fellows, Hugh Fraser, Holliday Grainger, Clive Mantle, Carla Mendonca, Katarina Olsson, Miranda Raison and Hugh Ross.

Review: Spinal Remains

Title: Spinal Remains: A Collection of Stories Author: Chad Lutzke Release: August 9, 2022 Format: Paperback I’ll be reviewing this collection in my preferred format, where I do mini-reviews of each story and provide my final thoughts on the collection as a whole at the end. Predisposition and a Box of Crayons Pages: 1 –… Continue reading Review: Spinal Remains

Review: SHREDDED

Reader beware! This sports and fitness body horror anthology is dangerous. Side effects include monstrous steroid transformation, concussion-induced madness, possession by jock ghost, death by yoga cult, and more. Read with caution!

Featuring seventeen reps of terror by Nikki R. Leigh, Tim Meyer, Brandon Applegate, Red Lagoe, Caias Ward, RW DeFaoite, Mae Murray, D. Matthew Urban, Charles Austin Muir, Joe Koch, Michael Tichy, Rien Gray, Robbie Burkhart, Eric Raglin, Matthew Pritt, Madeleine Sardina, Alexis DuBon, and J.A.W. McCarthy.

Review: EVERYTHING WILL BE ALL RIGHT IN THE END

What happens…after?

In Everything Will Be All Right in the End: Apocalypse Songs, you’ll see the lengths a father will go in order to protect his child, the emptiness that revenge can harness, gods compelled to act after being forgotten, a boy carrying the weight of decisions he didn’t make, and monsters both within and without. You’ll meet people who have lost everything, faced everything, lived through the worst that could happen, attempted to pick up the pieces of their shattered realities, and you will hear their apocalypse songs.

Listen closely.

Review: Silenced in Salt Lake

Silence may be golden, but it can also be deadly.

Nick O’Flannigan, a freelance photographer on a year-long assignment, is headed for Salt Lake City where there has been a recent series of murders. The Salt Lake Silencer is at large. But Nick has a new determination to stay out of mysteries. His involvement in a case in Denver nearly cost him his job and his new relationship.

An emergency dental procedure puts him unwillingly in the role of a potential witness.

Both he and the police think they know who the murderer is. When another victim turns up they realize they could be wrong. Dead wrong.

Will Nick stay on track with his assignment? Or will he once again be propelled into the limelight and risk his job and his relationship? You won’t know the answer until the chilling ending. Check out this, and the rest of the Capital City Murders Series today!

Review: Where Black Stars Rise (Sampler)

Dr. Amal Robardin, a Lebanese immigrant and a therapist in training, finds herself out of her depth when her first client, Yasmin, a schizophrenic, is visited by a nightly malevolent presence that seems all too real.

Yasmin becomes obsessed with Robert Chambers’ classic horror story collection The King in Yellow. Messages she finds in the book lead Yasmin to disappear, seeking answers she can’t find in therapy.

Amal attempts to retrace her patient’s last steps—and accidentally slips through dimensions, ending up in Carcosa, realm of the King in Yellow. Determined to find her way out, Amal enlists the help of a mysterious guide.

Can Amal save Yasmin? Or are they both trapped forever?

Review: Nothing Like the First Time

Only one woman stands between the eternal night and mankind—her name is Damali Richards…explore her world and the Vampire Huntress Legend…

Review: Cthulhu Mythos Tales

The Cthulhu Mythos is a collection of 23 loosely connected short stories by H. P. Lovecraft, one of the earliest masters of dark fantasy and horror. From “Dagon” to “The Call of Cthulhu” to “The Haunter of the Dark,” each story connects to the ancient cosmic entities known as the Great Old Ones, buried in a deep sleep beneath the earth and incomprehensible to mankind. For the few mortals who dare to glimpse this unknowable world, the result is a complete disconnection from what was once considered reality. Lovecraft’s stories are grim, fantastical, dark, horrifying—and yet endlessly fascinating.

Reviews © Copyright 2022 Korra Baskerville