Review: Hades

  • Title:
    • Hades
  • Author:
    • Carly Spade
  • Release:
    • July 13, 2021
  • Format:
    • Audiobook
  • Narrator:
    • Stella Bloom
  • Series:
    • Contemporary Mythos #1

Hades is a slow burn with emphasis on slow. I’m personally fine with it, especially with romance. I enjoy it when the characters actually spent a bit of time getting to know each other, it makes their relationships feel more believable. I liked how the author worked in the greek setting to fit the myths, which I know nothing about. It was a nice detail that there were other guys on vacation who were involved in the story, though Stephanie only had eyes for the dark and broody Hades.

Stephanie seems a bit plain for Hades, to be honest. The way these two play off of each other kept reminding me of the Twilight books. His powers don’t seem to work on her, despite his constant mood swings and warnings to stay away, she keeps going after him, etc. I couldn’t help but notice the similarities as I was listening.

I don’t know what the trope is called; It’s the same rehashed plot point of somebody who is incredibly simple and by the books being pestered constantly by her friend to step out of her cumfort zone. you could replace most of the dialogue with that from other stories and it wouldn’t make a difference.

There were times it felt like it dragged on for too long. I kept expecting the story to end and it just kept going on and on. If you’re the type who enjoys an epilogue, this story essentially has several chapters of epilogue for you.

The audio narration isn’t anything special. The narrator did a serviceable job, but it’s hardly a standout performance. There weren’t any audible issues or glitches with the narration.

NOTE: This copy was provided to me free of charge as a digital review copy. The opinions stated in this review are mine and mine alone, I was not paid or requested to give this book a certain rating, suggestion, or approval.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Reviews © Copyright 2022 Korra Baskerville