Review: These Deadly Games

Let’s play a game.

You have 24 hours to win. If you break my rules, she dies. If you call the police, she dies. If you tell your parents or anyone else, she dies.

Are you ready?

When Crystal Donavan gets a message on a mysterious app with a picture of her little sister gagged and bound, she agrees to play the kidnapper’s game. At first, they make her complete bizarre tasks: Steal a test and stuff it in a locker, bake brownies, make a prank call.

But then Crystal realizes that each task is meant to hurt—and kill—her friends, one by one. But if she refuses to play, the kidnapper will kill her sister. Is someone trying to take her team out of the running for a gaming tournament? Or have they uncovered a secret from their past, and wanting them to pay for what they did….

Author of All Your Twisted Secrets, Diana Urban’s explosive sophomore novel, These Deadly Games, is a must-listen, propulsive YA thriller with deadly stakes, stunning twists, and a shocking ending you’ll never forget—perfect for fans of I Know What You Did Last Summer and One of Us Is Lying.

Review: Where Black Stars Rise (Sampler)

Dr. Amal Robardin, a Lebanese immigrant and a therapist in training, finds herself out of her depth when her first client, Yasmin, a schizophrenic, is visited by a nightly malevolent presence that seems all too real.

Yasmin becomes obsessed with Robert Chambers’ classic horror story collection The King in Yellow. Messages she finds in the book lead Yasmin to disappear, seeking answers she can’t find in therapy.

Amal attempts to retrace her patient’s last steps—and accidentally slips through dimensions, ending up in Carcosa, realm of the King in Yellow. Determined to find her way out, Amal enlists the help of a mysterious guide.

Can Amal save Yasmin? Or are they both trapped forever?

Review: Nothing Like the First Time

Only one woman stands between the eternal night and mankind—her name is Damali Richards…explore her world and the Vampire Huntress Legend…

Review: Tatum

Everyone has nightmares, but the silent girl from Tatum’s is crossing over to reality, and when she does, someone dies.

In a quiet little neighbourhood, murders are about to rock the community’s happy existence, but only Tatum can make the connection between seeing the girl from her nightmare and the deaths that are occurring.

The second time it happens, another person dies.

By the third time, Tatum is left needing answers.

She has to ask, is she next?

Review: The Rat King

Sadie befriends the shy boy next door who is always hungry, but never eats. Derek and his college friends fulfill a dream to visit a mysterious, remote park known for its natural wonders, and its history of unexplained beheadings.

An unforgettable encounter with the town eccentric, a visit with a grandmother who is not herself lately, a trip through time at the worst possible time and more. The Rat King is fourteen horror and speculative stories, fully illustrated and featuring four stories adapted by The NoSleep Podcast. This book will stay with you long after the final page is turned.

Published in partnership with The NoSleep Podcast’s Sleepless Sanctuary Publishing.

“The Rat King is a powerful, haunting, original collection of stories that not only unsettles the reader with the visceral horrors that are revealed, but also with the psychological trauma and emotional journeys that each character takes-towards redemption, or vengeance, or looming terror. This is an author to keep an eye on.”-Richard Thomas, author of Disintegration and Breaker (Thriller Award, Bram Stoker, and Shirley Jackson nominee)

Review: Siphon

There is an urge inside you….

Dr. Gary Phillips, the resident hematopathologist at Claybrook Medical Center, is a lonely man struggling with the duress of an all-work and no-play lifestyle.

Burdened with an unhealthy infatuation with his co-worker, a burning disdain for his boss, and an abusive relationship with his grandfather, Gary just can’t catch a break.

That is, until a workplace accident ushers in a bizarre but empowering experience that evokes a new sense of self, forcing repressed memories to surface while encouraging him to pursue his fantasies with unconventional methods.

Reviews © Copyright 2022 Korra Baskerville