Review: Yuki: A Snow White Retelling

  • Title:
    • Yuki: A Snow White Retelling
  • Author:
    • Nicolette Andrews
  • Release:
    • December 27, 2021
  • Format:
    • Audiobook
  • Narrator:
    • Joanna Roddy
  • Series:
    • Tales of Akatsuki, Book 2

I have no prior knowledge of the original story. I think there are 7 elves that are dopey and sleazy or something. I’ve always been interested in the original, but have never bothered to look into it.

This story utilizes a bunch of Japanese names and creatures I’m only vaguely familiar with. Tanuki’s (raccoon dogs), Yokai (?), I think they mention Oni in passing which I only know by name and a few other Japanese words or garments.

Despite not knowing what the hell most of the creatures are or do, I still found myself enjoying the story. The romance between Yuki and Hotaru seems strange. Every time she starts to feel a bit interested in him, something happens and she does a total 180. Despite this, their relationship does at least feel genuine. They have chemistry and things don’t just fall into place immediately.

I did find a few of the character arcs to be predictable. I had a chunk of the plot slightly figured out early on. I didn’t know 100% how things were going to play out and that kept it interesting for me. I did find the bit of background plot of the wars to not really be of import. It’s brought up from time to time but it never feels as noteworthy as the characters make it out to be.

The narrator did a good job of reading and acting out emotions. The voices she does for male characters are a bit lacking and often times just sound close to her general narration voice. Without context clues in the book, it would be difficult to tell who is speaking.

NOTE: This copy was provided to me free of charge as a digital review copy. The opinions stated in this review are mine and mine alone, I was not paid or requested to give this book a certain rating, suggestion, or approval.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Reviews © Copyright 2022 Korra Baskerville